Scottish playtime

Wow.  Not to put too fine a point on it.  Today I had the outrageous fortune to join a number of other bloggers and tweeters, a couple of blippers and heaven knows how many Official Representatives of The Press at the Tramway.

What brought us on trains, buses, minicabs, cars from East Lothian? The chance to witness, photograph, and film Alan Cumming being all the characters in William Shakespeare’s play of ambition and madness, MacBeth.

The National Theatre of Scotland are bringing this ambitious project to the Tramway, opening tonight and running up to the 30th of June.  From there, the show goes transatlantic to the Lincoln Centre in New York.

Not only were we treated to two scenes from the show, we met a number of cast and crew members, including Alan Cumming.  I’m delighted to say I have some excellentfootage of Mr Cumming, which I am desperate to upload.  I will, but I’m going to exercise a tiny bit of patience to make it that bit closer to right.  Watch this space.

The acting is excellent, the sets are amazing and the play is as relevant today as it has ever been.

In the meantime, I was told on the box office – * 0845 330 3501 * – RING IT NOW – * 0845 330 3501 – * that NTS have released a number of tickets.  The show really is not one to be missed.  Tomorrow night, I’ll be there, so expect a fuller analysis from me soon, and some audio visual entertainment.

About damagnifyingless

I live in Glasgow, and express myself through poetry, film, photography and my blog at https://damagnifyingless.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Theatre and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

