A what a what?

Today is the first day of National Poetry Writing Month, NaPoWriMo, http://www.napowrimo.net. The challenge is to write a poem a day in the month of April, sharing your progress with like minded scribblers worldwide.

To make a bit of a confession, the first time I heard of this I was writing about that much anyway. I didn’t understand why anyone would need prompts and support from old and new friends to do such a thing (and why did it only last a month?).

Nowadays though, I haven’t written daily for a long time, certainly not for as long as a month. And I do miss it. The first prompt I saw today was from Jo Bell (I’m writing this in the Quick Press, so just google her. She’s a great poet and a force of nature who works and works and works to promote poetry in all its shapes and forms).

The prompt was to write a letter to your sixteen year old self. At first I wasn’t sure it would happen. And if it did, how ‘poetic’ would it be?

Well it did happen. Both of these questions I asked myself are typical of the everyday resistances facing writers and artists of all sorts – the rationalisations that help us to put off deploying our genius where it belongs.

I won’t put the whole poem up – it is a ‘begun’ for one thing, for another, I’m just about fit to drop. And also, just maybe, it might end up on an editor’s desk.

Here’s a clip though –

“du’s a lock/mair kuil/as du imagines du is”

Is the suspense killing you? Well, if you haven’t checked it out, I reccomend #napowrimo – for the discipline it requires, and the people who go through it with you. Get writing!

and that if it did

About damagnifyingless

I live in Glasgow, and express myself through poetry, film, photography and my blog at https://damagnifyingless.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

