Nothing Plain

All go here at Magnie Mansions – time just keeps slipping away from me.  Still, I’ve written bits of verse every day.  Maybe not always a proper poem, but often.  Ten days in, and it really looks like a good ten days writing.

Little fluffy clouds over Glasgow - with rainclouds behind the camera!

Little fluffy clouds over Glasgow – with rainclouds behind the camera!

Here’s to another twenty!  And am pleased to share more work from Reider O’Doom.  I haven’t even typed anything up yet – everything’s in notebooks (excepting one twaiku which I tweeted [twaiked?]) waiting to be released unto the world.

Also good news arrived from New Writing Scotland – having made it in last year at my third attempt, I have got another poem in.

Here’s the Reid’s lines. Put a smile on my face.

Fate

It rained this morning in southern Spain.
I opened the door, looked out,
and cursed my luck.
No cycling along the passeo
for me.
No cafe con leche in the little cafe
for me.
No mid-morning cigarette gazing out over the hazy Med
for me.
But then I remembered the folk back home.
No cycling along the passeo
for them.
No cafe con leche in the little cafe
for them.
And any mid-morning cigarette would be smoked
while huddled,
collar turned up and back to the wind,
with a few hardy companions,
wondering
if this damned Winter is ever going to end.

Then I smiled, not at their fate
but at mine.

Copyright Reider O’Doom 2013

About damagnifyingless

I live in Glasgow, and express myself through poetry, film, photography and my blog at https://damagnifyingless.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

